What was different today?

Wednesday, Daniel got up and dressed without a single reminder.He made his breakfast without any random wandering.Even the milk made it back to the fridge on the first shot.His backpack was packed with everything he needed before I even asked.Miraculously, the backpack made it to the car with Daniel and without a friendly reminder from The Bear – Daniel’s younger brother, roommate and general “brother’s keeper.”

Daniel was pleasant, even outgoing.His observations were accurately relayed with efficient use of language.Daniel even turned and responded to the babbling conversation of the toddler, causing a peel of laughter.

Daniel’s lucidity and clarity lasted the rest of the day.It was like a break in the storm.Homework almost finished itself without heavy breathing, blow-ups, or broken pencils.Chores were completed without reminders and with a pleasant smile.Daniel even complimented the smell of my cooking.By the time he went to bed (having remembered on his own to brush his teeth), I felt light.

Thursday, I had to wake him up 4 times.He refused to wear socks.10 minutes before we needed to leave, he was still circling the kitchen – head to the flatware drawer, get distracted and head for the hall, remember that he is supposed to be eating breakfast and head back to the table, only to remember he was trying to get a spoon to eat his cereal.

I was busy loading babies (3 months and 21 months) when I sent The Bear back into the house to get tell Daniel for the 3rd time that we were leaving.We were passing the guard gate out to the main road when I thought to ask Daniel if he had his backpack.He nearly lost all control in his frustration at the realization that the backpack was not on the floor board by his feet.

I finally dropped everyone off.We made it under the wire for the tardy bell!As I drove home, I racked my brain.What was different? What possible reason could there be for such a different reaction to the daily routine? I ran through the list of the usual suspects: Did he get up late? Did he go to bed late? Were his clothes not ready? Was there any variation in the routine? The answer is no to all of those.

Most days are somewhere in between.However, I have yet to find any plausible cause of the drastic difference there is for Daniel some days.I continue to look while being so grateful for the days when the fog lifts and everything just clicks!

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in A beautiful mind. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

