The email of the day.

Tracyemail.10.21.09

For the last week and a half, there has been a lot of focus on Daniel and his school work. It feels to me like we are again, in the trenches. He is constantly forgetting his books, resisting reading at home, pushing against me at every turn. Scott is as always my support. He reminds me of the big picture. Three years ago, this month, we moved into the house we currently live in. Scott reminds me what it was like with Daniel then. This helps me stay grounded and positive. Even with this help, these last weeks have been a challenge. There have been evenings where I just go in the bathroom and cry from frustration. Even as late as yesterday, Daniel forgot his books at school.

I suppose it hasn’t helped that the girls (Jane and Sofie – age 2.5 and 16 months) have been sick and up multiple times in the night. Scott is still looking for work and money is tight. The lack of sleep and the circumstantial stress has been taking its toll. I wake up in the morning feeling exhausted. However, this morning I woke to this email from Daniel’s Reading Resource Teacher Tracy T.

“Okay – I am giving Daniel the leveled reader that we will start on Thursday. I also put a Junie B. Jones in for him…

Daniel has been working like CRAZY -trying to read – writing when asked. I am thrilled. I see a student on his way to middle school! Way to go with all the work you do with him. I don’t know how you manage with all you have to do – but it is paying off in a big way with Daniel!”

I feel a rush of renewed energy. It is amazing what some positive feedback can do.

I have to remember to tell Daniel about this. He is equally in the trenches. I can see how I have begun to take the perspective that this is a “me versus him” situation. Sitting here, I try to give a face to the unembodied source of our obstacles. I remember it is Daniel and I versus these faceless challenges.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

