Monday Morning – Day one

Daniel supposedly set his alarm last night. However, 20 minutes before his ride to school left he was still sleeping. Maybe the fact that he stayed up an extra hour last night contributed to this. I think he has been blinded by the joy of unfettered access to the Wii and TV. I wonder how long it will take for the responsibility load to hit him. Like in adult life, these kinds of things can be back loaded. The consequences of real life hit slower and take longer to recover from than those set up by mom and dad.

Daniel stumbled out of his room at 7:28 looking confused.

“Mom! Why didn’t my alarm go off?!” he asked rubbing his eyes.

“I have no idea.” I replied. “We are leaving in about 2 minutes if you want to catch a ride.”

Surprisingly, there was no whining, yelling, blaming, or arguing. He simply turned and rushed off to his room. I don’t know if kids have a 6th sense that tells them when mom is not bluffing. Daniel seemed to know that I was perfectly willing and content to walk out the door and drive to school without him.

Daniel got lucky. A last minute bathroom run and a forgotten check book delayed our departure by 3 minutes. As I rummaged for the checkbook, he came out of his room dressed, with his shoes on and amazingly, brushing his hair. (On a normal morning, I would have to remind him to put his shoes on and tell him more than once to brush his hair.)

“I guess you just don’t want me to have my backpack!” he started to complain to me. I just turned and started to walk to the door, checkbook in hand. The noise of Robert and the girls getting into the car became louder as I opened the door. Daniel abandoned his complaint and ran to his room. By the time I reached the car and started buckling Jane in, Daniel was scrambling into the back seat – backpack and all.

As we drove to school, I commended Daniel. “Most mornings, you aren’t ready to leave even though I wake you up an hour before we are scheduled to leave. Today, you managed to make it in less than 5 minutes and with your shoes on and your hair brushed. I am impressed.” Daniel smiled. He didn’t even make a smart comeback.

“He didn’t shower.” Robert reminded us under his breath. “I hope he doesn’t smell.” I nudged Robert.

Driving home, I smiled. Overall it was a good morning, even if Daniel did forget to have me sign his agenda.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in The Great College Student Experiment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

