The Great College Student Experiment

This week is the Great College Student Experiment.

Daniel and I have been butting heads a lot lately.  I know that Daniel is most definitely heading into puberty.  This may be contributing to the difficulties.  We are entering new territory.

I started out this last month becoming more strict and restrictive with Daniel.  We have always tried to balance responsibilities with privileges.  When responsibilities are not maintained, privileges are taken away.  When responsibilities are increased, so are privileges.  When Daniel refused to step up to the responsibilities he had, I took away his Wii, then his tv, then his non-educational computer game privileges.  It made a lot of work for me.  Daniel was bored and sullen.  The breaking point when I walked next door to drop off a baby gift.  Returning 15 minutes later, I caught Daniel playing Wii in the living room.  I felt completely defeated, frustrated and lost. Daniel was sorry and unhappy.

I decided to take an evening to think it over.  I talked with Scott.  We came up with a plan.  This week, Daniel gets to live like a college student in our  home.  He is 100% responsible.  There are no limitations on his computer, Wii, or TV.  There is also no one reminding him to get up for school and get dressed and making him meals.  He can catch a ride with us, if he is ready, or he can find his own way to class.  Doing his homework is 100% up to him.  At the end of the week, I will be testing him on his multiplication, taking the updates I have requested from his teacher, along with my observations and meeting with Daniel.  I am also looking to hear what his experience has been.

Daniel may fall flat on his face or may rise to the occasion.   I think it will be somewhere in-between.  I think I will see that Daniel is much more capable than I think.  It will be a challenge to me to let go and let him succeed and fail.  I have to start letting go.  Also, I think Daniel will see that he still needs help.  He needs people there for him and so he needs to respect that the help he receives is a gift that people give him.

I will be tracking our experiences this week on this site.  I am looking forward and slightly scared but over all I think this week will be profitable.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in The Great College Student Experiment. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Great College Student Experiment

  1. Pingback: Wimpy Kid to the Rescue « Raising a Child with Asperger's Syndrome

Leave a Reply

