Thursday – Day 4

Daniel is progressively more on edge.  He seems to be internalizing the stress that is building regarding his homework and school work.  He doesn’t say anything, but the second any academics are even mentioned he almost bursts into tears and interrupts with, “I don’t like that everyone is judging me!”

I am trying to decide how to approach our conversation on Saturday.  I think that a clearer picture of the current struggle is emerging.  Although there is a tint of Asperger’s in Daniel’s struggle there seems to be a main problem here.

This struggle is simple procrastination. Because of Daniel’s specific learning disability, reading is unpleasant and so is the area where the procrastination presents most prominently.  However, Daniel is simply putting off unpleasant tasks.  This is no different from many children Daniel’s age.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in The Great College Student Experiment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

