Friday – Day Five

A secondary problem showed itself clearly today. I received an email from Daniel’s primary teacher Mrs. H. She said that Daniel is having impulse control issues and is having trouble keeping his hands to himself. These are a re-occurrence of previous struggles Daniel has dealt with in the past.

This secondary problem is more closely related to Asperger’s Syndrome. Impulse control is a weak point for many that have Asperger’s . For Daniel, additionally decreased impulse control has always been a side effect of increased video game time. Since, Daniel has been allowed to self monitor in that area this week, it is not surprising that his impulse control has decreased.

I am hoping that in our conversation tomorrow, Daniel will see this correlation. I need him to stop blaming other’s for his struggles and take control where he has responsibility – where he has power. I want Daniel to make progress in learning to address difficult tasks rather than putting them off. I want him to see that sometimes it is important to limit things that we might find pleasurable (video games) in order to be healthy and functional in our everyday life (good impulse control). I hope he can learn to find balance and to satisfaction in accomplishing a goal as much as spending time on a hobby.

There are a couple of difficult weeks ahead of us. However, this experiment has brought out a lot of good. It has given me practice in letting go of control. It has clarified some of the struggles we are facing. It has shown me that Daniel has really made progress in some areas, like the morning routine. We know that our morning routine can be easy and calm.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in The Great College Student Experiment. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday – Day Five

  1. Man, this was such a great way to track your progress. Awesome work!!!

Leave a Reply

