How to boil water… an interesting insight into the mind of a person on the PDD spectrum

I love how this woman explains what is going on. I was especially interested in  how she explained why the kitchen is difficult. There are a lot of external cues for various tasks in the kitchen. It seems that every time she enters the kitchen she is distracted from her purpose (boiling water) by these cues. She struggles to sort and filter which cues are relevant to her task. She just doggedly tries over and over to hit on the correct cues in the correct order.

Although this is a more extreme case than my son, it gave me fresh insight into his brain. Often when Daniel starts to say something or interact with someone, it appears as if it takes a huge effort. The communication bursts forth from him like water breaking through a dam. Maybe, like this woman says, it takes a lot of planning to get everything to work together toward the intended purpose.

The idea of struggling to sort and filter relevant external cues also clicks for me when I observe Daniel. Particularly in the kitchen, Daniel will open random cabinets, pick up items and carry them to another counter and put them down, use 3 spoons to make one PB&J because he kept losing the spoon he was using. It also explains why I sometimes find the milk in the pantry after he has been in the kitchen.

I have an added dimension of compassion for my son after seeing this video. Maybe this will help me, help Daniel to bridge the gaps between himself and the rest of the world that he faces every day.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in Ah-ha moments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

