An Unexpected Outlet

Daniel started a diary this week. I was surprised and delighted. I have tried to get him to journal before and been met with complete resistance. When he discovered he liked The Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, I bought him The Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Do-it-yourself Diary for Christmas. He wrote in it for a couple of days and quit.

Then out of the blue, he asked for a composition book. In it, he has been chronicling his story, complete with illustrations. At first, his brother wrote while Daniel dictated. Robert got tired of this though. I thought that would be the end of the diary, since Daniel has always resisted writing on his own. Instead Daniel started to write and write and write.

An added benefits of this book was highlighted this week. An altercation in PE over a jump-rope game escalated into a shoving match and then a scuffle. Daniel and another child both received referrals.

In those situations, Daniel usually struggles to express his side of the story. However, this time, he wrote about it. The story came out clearly. He showed his teacher and she copied the page for the record.

Daniel seems less upset when he can write about a situation. I am cautiously optimistic.

Now, I am torn when I catch him writing in his journal instead of doing his homework. This may fade away in a week or so, but for now Daniel is writing and better processing his emotions. I will be thankful for that today.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in A beautiful mind, Magic Moments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

