The Story of the Zebras

We were driving around this morning, running errands. Daniel was sitting in the seat next to me staring quietly out of the window.

“Mom, can I tell you the one about the zebras?” he asked out of the blue.

“Sure.” I replied.

“Well these zebras were in trouble. First they flew. Then they went under the Antarctica with air bubbles so they couldn’t stay long. Then the lions were going to eat them. So you see what can happen?” He asked.

“I don’t understand.” I said, confused.

“Mom! It is like the story of the boy who cried wolf!” Daniel said, exasperated.

“I still don’t understand. I can’t see how that story corresponds to the story of the boy who cried wolf.”

“Because they are like the villagers.” He explained.

“The zebras?” I asked.

“No! Mom! You are not understanding.” Daniel rolled his eyes, “The birds are like the villagers because they don’t believe the zebras.”

“Oh! I get it.”

Daniel looked content.

“So you see what I mean about the story of the boy who cried wolf. The lesson is that you shouldn’t lie.” He concluded and resumed looking out the window.

I was a little relieved to be done with that story. I still am not sure exactly how the whole story was told originally but I don’t have the energy this morning to work with Daniel on his communication. I can guess that there was something about the zebras telling the birds that they could fly and then that they had traveled to Antarctica. The birds found out that wasn’t true so when the zebras said a lion was going to eat them, they didn’t believe the story. That is enough for today. As is often the case with Daniel, a lot can get lost in the retelling.

I think that in some ways, Daniel must be like me. I often will start talking in the middle of a thought. A combination of the quizzical look on my husband’s face and years of self awareness have taught me to catch myself by the end of the first sentence. I will quickly explain the thought that led up to the statement and my husband will smile and shake his head or laugh softly. Maybe in Daniel’s head he has already told the rest of the story. That would explain his frustration at my confusion. It doesn’t dawn on him that I didn’t hear his thoughts.

I am thankful to have a tolerant and compassionate husband. Seeing my own quirks in Daniel helps me stay compassionate, patient and tolerant. However, some days, that resolution is severely tested. Today, I think I did pretty well.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in A beautiful mind. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Story of the Zebras

  1. Annessa says:

    Thank you for your candid, yet uplifting, blog. I am raising two children at different points on the spectrum. In some ways they are so successful, in others, well, we try to see the progress. I really appreciated your words about how your “dance” with your son is changing. My daughter, too was just promoted from 5th grade and I’m not enjoying her. Though she is on medication for mood regulation, her mood swings are still volatile and I find her treating me very poorly – bordering on verbal abuse. It’s very frustrating to try to get her to do the things that are good for her, when she hates me for it. Most days, I am patient and speak kindly to her and feel like what I’m doing is important. But, sometimes, I get frustrated and down – that’s when I go looking for support. I found it in your blog. Thank you for sharing. You are a wise, inspired mom. Us mom’s have to stick together!

    • aspergersmom says:

      Thank you for your kind comment! I too can completely understand about the volatile mood swings. We have two older children (boy – 16 and a girl 13) and my experience is that some of this is just the adolescent stage. Hormones surge through their little bodies causing all kinds of craziness. I remember being in junior high and high school and having everything feel hugely important and emotional. I think being on the spectrum just magnifies the loudness of the outbursts. Daniel’s outburst can be verbally violent. They too border on verbally abusive. I am having to learn to handle this and actually prepping a post on just that struggle! I am so glad to hear I am not alone in this! I applaud your turning and looking for support! It is so easy to become isolated in this journey! I look forward to reading your blog as well!

Leave a Reply

