Leaving on a Jet Plane…

Daniel and Robert are heading out to Texas on Friday. They are going to spend 14 days with their dad, step-mom and step-brother at their home near Ft. Hood. They will be flying, alone.

This isn’t their first flight without a parent accompanying them. This last spring they flew out to California to visit their Nonna. However, on that trip they traveled as unaccompanied minors. This time, because of Daniel’s age and the airline they are traveling on, they are not required to fly as unaccompanied minor.

While I was glad for the lower ticket cost, this was and still is a nerve-wracking prospect for me. I made sure they are flying on a non-stop flight so they do not have the responsibility of changing planes.

Daniel is very high functioning and so this is an activity he should be able to handle. I am more worried about him and his brother together. They tend to bring out the worst in each other some times. Robert will prod and purposely aggravate Daniel.

Robert usually does this when he is mad at Daniel. He hopes that Daniel’s reaction will get Daniel in hot water without the adults recognizing Robert’s part. However, sometimes Robert will do this when bored.

Today was a perfect example. We had lots of boring dental appointments and errands to run. Usually, I do this without the boys but today they had to be in attendance. Daniel was allowed to bring his Nintendo DS and was happily playing it. Robert was bored. He started whispering in Daniel’s ear. The whispering elicited a cry from Daniel, “I am not like that!”

More low voices and Daniel reaches out for Robert. Robert must have known what he was saying would further aggravate Daniel because he already had his arm extended in such a way that he could easily block Daniel’s strike.

Because of Daniel’s limitations, when aggravated he quickly looses control. I am nervous they will start aggravating each other on the plane. I have impressed upon them the important of acting responsibly and maturely on this flight. However, I am still apprehensive.

Part of me is telling me that this is another example of me being a controlling mother. So, I am taking my courage in both hands and putting them on a plane on Friday with full expectations that they will be fine.

Am I being over-protective or fool hardy? Only time will tell.

How do you promote respectful and close sibling relationships? How do you deal with the inevitable fighting? How do you promote healthy conflict resolution and discourage “pushing each others’ buttons?

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in transitions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

