Video: I’m an aspie kid – read blog cos I forgot a few things

Watch here:

Video: Stephen discusses his Asperger’s | Autism Support Network

or here:

I have tried to describe Daniel, the way he moves, the way he speaks and the content of his speech. This kid is so much like Daniel that he does just that.

Daniel speaks in the same inflection. He adds in qualifiers and details in an almost identical way. Stephen describes how he moves his hands when he day dreams. This is identical to Daniel. Stephen describes smashing things up when he gets upset and how he can get smash up things. He describes how intensely upset he can get. That too is like Daniel.

Towards the end of the video, Stephen talks about his music work.

“I am still doing [unintelligible] if you want to watch them and all that. Feel free. You can comment as well… Well nice ones hopefully.” Stephen then does this little shoulder shrug with an eye roll that so identically mimics Daniels speech and body movement, I laughed out loud.

Stephen is bluntly honest about his struggles and his successes. This kind of blunt, honest self awareness is also typical of Daniel.

I really enjoyed this video. Stephen is older then Daniel. He has crossed hurdles that we still face. Over all, I hope that this can be the way Daniel can speak about his life in years to come.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in A beautiful mind, Asperger Traits, Challenges, His Story, Videos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

