Insights about Autism from an Autistic

I like this video mainly because of the star. It is interesting to hear about the struggle of Autism from the inside.  Just watching him speaking reminds me of the beauty of a mind being able to surmount struggles to communicate ideas – something we in the typical world take for granted. I also thought the following points were helpful.

Visual, auditory and sensory stimuli is not easily differentiated. For example, a sound that we think of as very quiet can seem intensely loud to an autistic. Similarly with visual stimuli, “a pen is the same as you”. This probably contributes to the complete self absorption typical of autistics.  This also ties in with the resistance to physical contact.

I also found it interesting the differences pointed out between High Functioning Autism and Asperger’s Syndrome. The commonality being the social struggles but less repetitive movements and allergies.

Lastly he mentioned that there is mounting evidence of genetic links for Autism and that there is a difference in the genetic links between regressive and non-regressive Autism.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in A beautiful mind, Asperger Traits, Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

