Autism and Tea for Two

I really loved reading “Autism and Tea for Two” by AKButler.  This mother’s description of watching her younger, typical son hitting developmental milestones his older brother was still working on. This is something I have experienced often in the past, so much so that I sometimes think of Robert as older then he actually is because he is so close to and sometimes ahead of Daniel developmentally. I was reminded of this phenomenon this week.

Reading was my life growing up. I devoured books. I will occasionally run across books that I loved and want my children to love.  Trying to share these with Daniel usually results in him tell me they are too hard to read. His dyslexia makes reading the last thing he wants to do.

This weekend, I stumbled upon The Phantom Tollbooth, by Norton Juster. This book made me laugh so hard as a kid. I wanted to share it  – and suddenly realized I could… with my younger son. He is 9, in 4th grade and an excellent reader.

Robert gets jokes and sarcasm that Daniel may never truly understand. And it is hard not to compare.

However, as AKButler says, “And I realize that I have to stop comparing my kids. All three boys will do their own things in their own time. One may be reading chapter books at age 6, one may be able to name every single Hot Wheels car in our house, and one may be able to sing along with Lady Gaga. It doesn’t matter how long it took my 4 year old to get to this tea party. Every milestone and every step, he’ll be a bit behind where he’s supposed to be. But he’s here now. That’s what my focus needs to be.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in Parenting on the Spectrum, Siblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

