Addressing the Problem of the Aid

After my last IEP meeting, it was obvious that there was a need for an aid in Daniel’s Science class. With 50% of the 22 students being special needs students, I was shocked to discover the teacher didn’t already have an aid.

When I arrived home, I got my girls settled into a project and started drafting an email to the head ESE Liaison at the middle school.

I decided to request a meeting with her while also addressing the aid problem. Doing this, built in a deadline for action. If she is meeting with me, she knows I will be asking about this situation at that time.

Even though I was outraged at the lack of an aid in a class populated by so many ESE students, I didn’t want to alienate Mrs. E**** by attacking her or the school. I wanted to use language that clearly indicated I knew my child’s rights without being overly aggressive.

Here is my email:

Within an hour and a half, I had this reply:

Following attached email:

I am glad to have made progress. I know this will not solve all problems, but it is a step in the right direction. I am looking forward to being able to see what else can be accomplished during the meeting with Mrs. E*****.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in IEP Process, Reasources, School, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

