I married Bob Newhart

This was my husband’s facebook status late last month:

“Scott ******** – Much of the time I feel like Bob in the Newhart show – the only sane person in the skit, wandering around befuddled and not really sure what the hell is going on.”

My husband is a trooper. He is Daniel’s step-dad. Being the parent of a child with special needs is difficult, I can’t imagine being a stepparent to one. Regardless of the challenges, he chooses to dive in every day. He shows care and compassion to my son and has won my heart over and over.

He stays calm when I am flustered. He remembers the big pictures when I am drowning in the details. He is my perfect other half.

Best of all, he thinks he is the lucky one.

It is important to remember to support those we love. It is even more important to remember to express appreciation and gratitude to the people in our life who support us. They are there when we are soaring with achievements but they are also there when we are trudging along. When we get kicked all day, it is easy to kick at the ones who are there for us. So, take time to remember to say, “Thank you!” especially when it is hard. Saying, “Thank you!” in the middle of a hard day forces us to take a break from looking at the struggles and be grateful. It lifts our focus and strengthens our bonds.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in Super Support. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

