Because Doing a Great Job Doesn’t Always Feel Great

Here is the thing about doing a great job every day, it doesn’t feel great. People tell me that I am doing a great job. Maybe they are just trying to be encouraging. Who wants to tell a mother with a special needs child that she sucks?

Even if I truly am doing a great job, from my perspective, this is my normal everyday life. As such, most days I don’t look around and think I am doing a great job or even a good job. Actually, it is rarely that I feel like I am doing a really great job. Usually, I just feel average. Other days, I feel like I am failing – spectacularly.

I read about people who have written books about their journey with their special needs child and I wonder how they keep perspective. How do they see the successes? Maybe they only see them in retrospect.

This is my Theory of Human Relativity. No matter how amazing any person’s life may appear, to them it is just their normal life. It is easy to look at other people’s lives and think, “They must wake up every day just thrilled to be alive because they have such a cool life.” However, everyone, even the person with the “cool life” has good and bad days, up days and down days – no matter what their life looks like to the outside world. Finding joy in the mundane is a great talent. It allows me to love my life – even on days that suck.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in Ah-ha moments, Challenges, Dark moments. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Because Doing a Great Job Doesn’t Always Feel Great

  1. Pingback: Saturday Evening Blog Post « Raising a Child with Asperger's Syndrome

  2. Young Mom says:

    Just wanted to tell you this is so true. My husband is always telling me that I’m doing a good job, I think I find it hard to believe because I was never told that earlier in life.

Leave a Reply

