Severe Autism – Remembering the Bigger Picture

“This video highlights a moment in the life of a family raising a non-verbal child with severe autism dealing with episodic, chronic savage self injurious behaviors. Footage (2009) taken after Jamey’s mother had just removed son from group home, following an injury where he was left alone to beat himself behind closed door, while the caregiver slept. Wrestling helmet in place to guard ear, that was surgically repaired after he had caused a hematoma from this event.”

Read more: http://www.autismsupportnetwork.com/news/video-cases-which-autism-experts-often-run-02992322#ixzz14JvTK4oV

I could only cry as I watched this video.  No matter how difficult my days, they are nothing by comparison to this mother’s daily reality. Her care for her son is mind-boggling. I can not even imagine how I would manage in her position.

I am so thankful for my son’s functionality.

To find information on respite care: http://www.autism-pdd.net/respite.html

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in Blogs I Read, Challenges, Dark moments, ESE Public Awareness, Parenting on the Spectrum and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

