Great Tips Regarding Socializing – for both Aspies and NT’s

I enjoy reading Aspergirl. It is a blog specifically aimed towards women with Aspergers. I find it interesting both because I find some reflections of myself in her writing and because a lot of the tips are fundamentally unisex and help me help Daniel.

Today, she has a post entitled, Social Tips for People with Aspergers – having a life means facing our fears and going out. With 16 tips for Apergers heading out for social situations and 13 tips for NT to make their Aspie friends feel more comfortable, Ms. Simone does an excellent job of promoting self awareness and bridging the gap for Aspies and Neurotypicals alike.

I particularly liked #’s 3, 7 and 13 on the Aspie list. Number 3, Manners are the oil which make situations run smoothly, reminds me of my post on Social Niceties. Number 7, Have scripts for specific situations, reminds me of a habit I have developed myself for both my own use and to help my son as we face stressful or difficult situations. Number 13, Explain that you have a threshold, a time limit for socializing and that when it’s up, it’s up, is a tip I think everyone could use but is particularly vital if you are on the spectrum.

I recommend this blog for regular reading and this post in particular.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in Asperger Traits, Blogs I Read, Social Butterfly and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

