Being Loved

Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage. – Lao Tzu –

There is a man who made this true for me. He married me three years ago today. He has been the most influential person in my life.

I have known him all my life but when we re-connected nearly 8 years ago, I didn’t even know Daniel had Asperger’s. I knew Daniel was different but had not gotten a diagnosis. My husband has been through a lot with me. It sounds almost too cliche to say he has been there for me, but he truly has been by my side through everything. He has supported me in a way that has given me courage when I thought I would crumble. He has loved me in a selfless way that healed a lot of hurts in my heart and soul.

My husband has done more than just love me. He has loved my children too, a truly selfless gift. I can’t list in this post all the ways that Daniel’s life is better with Scott in his life. Scott brings a calm and strong energy that is invaluable.

One of the biggest gifts is the way Scott balances me. He gets me to look at the big picture when I am drowning in the frustrating day-to-day. He gets me to lighten up and give the boys the room to grow when I get too controlling. He hasn’t stopped listening to me go on and on for nearly 8 years now. He even claims to still find me fascinating. Go figure.

I know that partly I am lucky. When I look at all the twists and turns that it took for us to get here, I marvel. Partly, though, we have really worked hard. As any parent of a special needs child knows, it can be hard on everyone and harder still on relationships. We have worked to make our relationship a priority. We have consistently worked on ourselves and our relationship. We have stretched out of our comfort zone to create our dream. The results in our relationship have far outweighed the work. Together we have created an amazing family!

I am grateful every day for the life I have with the most amazing man I have ever met. I love you baby!

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in Emotions, Magic Moments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

