Little House on the Prairie

It has been a while since I have posted anything. Since March of 2011, I have posted barely a handful of times. The last year and a half have been a very stressful and intense time in our family’s life. I won’t go into all the details but it has been a time of huge changes and challenges.

As a kindergartner, my mom and I read the Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I was in love with that story and prayed every night that God would allow me to travel back in time with my family to that time era and live that adventure. Yes, I was an odd child. I even amended my prayer to include that we would be allowed to have modern medicine so no one would die, but I digress.

This last month, we moved to the prairie, literally. My husband grew up in Central Illinois and we have returned to his very small hometown. It is beautiful here and calm and at first blush seems a very good fit for our family. More importantly, it seems as though life is stabilizing. With this stabilization it seems that I will have more time to write. I am very excited for this because I have so many things I have learned and read over the last year that I want to share. Particularly, I want to further address the idea of Asperger’s as a mental illness, thoughts regarding our ever-changing criteria of success in education and preparing an Aspie child for adulthood.

Check back soon or follow me on facebook: aspergersmom blog or on twitter @ Aspergersmom77.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Parenting on the Spectrum, transitions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Little House on the Prairie

  1. Jim Davis says:

    Glad you landed in a great spot and am anxious to hear more about what you have learned.

Leave a Reply

