New Kid in School

Being the parent of a child with an IEP makes me emotionally closer to my son. As we head to our first IEP meeting in our new school district, I have a sense of being the new kid in school. Even though my experience is being filtered through my own experiences and ways of handling emotions, I can relate to a degree with what my son is going through.

I decide to be hopeful and am determined, as always, to make sure my son gets what he needs. Underneath, I struggle with feeling a little self-conscious and even a little scared. The thought of it going poorly and having to “start over” in a new district is a bit exhausting. I will need to work on being in a more empowered frame of mind tomorrow morning, if I don’t somehow wake up that way.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Emotions, IEP Process. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Kid in School

  1. Jim Davis says:

    Just remember that you have done everything right. This will be a great new beginning as you move into the new IEP and the new school experience. You all are in a wondeful place. Relax and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

