Typically Funny: Princess Puberty

I often want to include funny things my “typical” children say and do, so I have decided to start a segment called “Typically Funny”.

I also have to admit that while I call my other children “typical” it is only to distinguish from my son diagnosed as on the spectrum. By my third child, I realized that there is really no such thing as a typical child. My youngest daughter is incredibly sensitive to touch. My son has an aversion to many types of foods, particularly if they have an unusual (to him) texture. Both could be indicative of sensory issues. My youngest daughter also flaps quite a bit when she is excited, but again, she is only 3.

I have begun to see that many of the indicators we look for in our “atypical” children for diagnosis exist in our “typical” children too. The main difference is degrees and level of interference in every day life. However, I am digressing and showing a bit of my ADD.

The other day my daughters were being babysat by a friend of mine, Mrs. F. so I could meet another friend for lunch.

As Mrs. F. prepared lunch, my 5 year old J. confided, “My cousin is a boy. He has a penis.”

“Yes. Most boys do have a penis,” Mrs. F. coolly responded.

“All boys do!” J. exclaimed, “And my Papa’s penis has hair on it.”

Trying to keep a straight face, Mrs. F. said, “Well, yes. Men have hair on their penises and when a boy becomes a teenager, they start getting hair there too.”

J. thought for a moment, “When I get my hair, it is going to be pink.”

She wants to grow up to be a princess or a rock star, so of course it makes sense that it will come in pink…

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in Typically Funny. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Typically Funny: Princess Puberty

  1. Jenny says:

    ROTFLOL I really admire Mrs. F. for handling that very well!

Leave a Reply

