Social Graces…

There are a lot of ways that Daniel really isn’t  very stereotypically Apsie. He is naturally very extroverted and has learned many social rules. Of course, even in his social moments, his quirks show up and are often entertaining. The other day, an old friend of my husband came by to help us with our dryer. Daniel was very excited as evidenced by the way he was leaning forward, standing on the tips of his toes, waiting for his chance to say hello.

“It is very nice to meet you!” he blurted out, extending his hand toward the man.

“Nice to meet you too,” the friend replied.

‘This is a friend of mine from when I was a kid,” my husband explained to Daniel.

Daniel looked a little anxious and I could tell he felt the need to say something but couldn’t think what it would be.

“Your name…” I whispered, prompting him.

“S*******!” Daniel shouted out his surname, still shaking the man’s hand, “I mean Daniel.”

Fortunately, we have easy going friends and everyone just smiled and moved on which is exactly what Daniel was hoping would happen.

I think learning some of the rules of the society that we live in is important. More importantly, I believe that this can be done without my Aspie being insincere or unauthentic.

As an Aspie, do you think understanding and participating in social niceties is important? Why or why not?

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in Asperger Traits, Parenting on the Spectrum, Social Butterfly. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Social Graces…

  1. Jim Davis says:

    Learning the social graces is important as we try to assimilate into this world. It’s important but we are allowed to make mistakes, learn, and make more mistakes. We continue to try but remember to not take it all so seriously! Love is what matters.

Leave a Reply

