Finding Hope

Yesterday was pretty typical of life with Daniel right now. He was difficult and draining and I have spent an exhausting amount of time trying to motivate him to do anything. He is increasingly choosing to isolate himself and narrow his horizons. He angrily fights me when I try to prompted him otherwise. School ended with his first end-of-term “D”. I am having one of those times where I wonder how he will ever take control of his life and live independently. I was thrilled when my “Asperger’s google alert” placed a link to the following article in my inbox:

A Dream Made Possible for Wyomissing Graduate: After years of struggling with Asperger’s syndrome, ADHD and depression, Dylan M. Hogue graduates from high school and is headed to college in the fall”

If I took this man and added dyslexia, he could be Daniel and he succeeded even though it often seemed impossible. It reminded me also that I am not in this alone and I need to continue to look to ever strengthening Daniel’s support network. None of us is an island. None of us are on this journey alone, even if it sometimes seems very lonely and draining. Keep pushing forward.

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in A beautiful mind, Asperger Traits, Challenges, Dark moments. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finding Hope

  1. Judi says:

    Thank you for writing this, including the link. My daughter is finishing her junior year with her worst grades yet. I just left the second IEP meeting in a month and I can only hope that this will help her next year. My daughter Meg is very intelligent, but in the last year the diagnosis of Asperger’s and Depression have been very difficult for her. We are looking next into mood disorders because she still has fluctuations even with the antidepressants. I understand about the withdrawing and the motivation. It is challenging and exhausting. Good luck and keep plugging away!

  2. aspergersmom says:

    I am so glad this was helpful to you! I have been right where you described in you comment. I have left IEP meetings and had to sit in my car and cry for a couple of minutes. Best of luck with the fluctuations. Those are so difficult. Thank you again for the encouragement. Keep plugging away too!

  3. jeff says:

    Newbie to your blog… thank you for your openness and honest.

    We are just now starting to understand aspergers. My story is much the same but with 3 boys. The oldest exhibits the strongest asperger traits, the youngest is more highly functioning but exhibit true aspie characteristics. In our research my wife self diagnosed herself with aspergers (less than 6 months ago) and upon research all marriage/relationship material sounds to be written about our marriage. Funny enough… I’m the one that has dyslexia and my middle child does too!

    She is homeschooling but now I’m really struggling with it (hence the way I came to your sight – your homeschooling post). The professionals are either STRONGLY for it or STRONGLY against it in the given setting! (It’s all black or white in aspie world!! lol )

    No we are not an island… but those struggling with aspergers at times wish they were… keep up the fight! -jeff

Leave a Reply

