7 Asperger’s Superpowers

Super-PowersThere are advantages to the neurological differences of being a person on the spectrum. Here are 7 of your atypical child’s superpowers:

  • Single-minded focus: The lecture on the origins of Slenderman during dinner clean up last night was tedious but my Apsie-son displayed a wealth of information gathered through hours of research. Aspies have an ability for laser focus on their chosen topic.
  • Integrity/Pure Motivation: Most Aspies are not motivated by money or praise but rather by their own internal fascination with a subject.
  • Honesty: “You finished all your homework! Don’t you feel good?” I asked. “Well, I feel good and pissed off at the same time,” Daniel explains, “Good, because I am done but pissed off because I had to do something I really hate. However, the one thing is that the good feeling is a little bit stronger than the pissed off feeling. So, I’ve got that going for me.” – I can always trust that I am getting my Aspie-son’s true reaction. He doesn’t sugar-coat anything. A compliment from him is worth its weight in gold.
  • Original and Independent Thinking: The result of honesty combined with an internal motivation and an atypical experience, is that Apies tend to have original thoughts and original perspective on everything from everyday occurrences to popular trends. They do not follow the crowd. Often, Daniel’s observations make me consider a commonplace social norm from a new perspective.
  • 3D and Visual Thinking: My Aspie-son is absolutely a 3D thinker. The creative applications for this kind of thinking may be key to unlocking a motivating purpose for any Aspie.
  • Higher Fluid Intelligence: Fluid Intelligence is the ability to reason quickly and to think abstractly. A recent study in Japan found that Aspies have a higher fluid intelligence than typical children. They have a higher ability to solve new problems and discover the relationships between concepts without the use of previously acquired knowledge because they find meaning in confusion. Their thinking is highly original.
  • superhumanDetail Oriented: The small details of life completely escape Daniel, like putting away the milk in the pantry. However, his comic strips are precise and detailed. When interested in a project he is very detail oriented. While working on a school project to build a structure out of spaghetti that could withstand a simulated earthquake, he was relentless in his pursuit of detailed perfection.

Today, I am going to find a way to appreciate my child’s superpowers.

How can we, as parents, encourage these superpowers?

About aspergersmom

I am a 35 year old woman. I am the wife of an amazing man, who keeps me sane. As a recent California/Florida transplant to the midwest and the mother to a combined family of 6 children; 3 boys, 3 girls, my life is an adventure. I blog and raise our family with my best friend.
This entry was posted in A beautiful mind, Asperger Traits. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 7 Asperger’s Superpowers

  1. Judy Davis says:

    I have two responses to this blog.
    First, I truly enjoy these little cameos; this kid who lectures on Slenderman or dutifully puts the milk away …. In the pantry! Perhaps there is a bit of “Apies” in a lot of us!
    Secondly, behind the extremes of neurological differences in Aspies, I see a lesson for all of us – our own differences can be our superpowers – valuable variations on the theme of being.
    You have inspired me to look for this in everyone I interact with today.

Leave a Reply

